Pietermaritzburg Cluster of Theological Institutions

The Cluster

SMMS is a partner institution within the Pietermaritzburg Cluster of Theological Institutions which was founded in March 1990. Its other members are St Joseph’s Theological Institute, the School of Religion, Philosophy and Classics of the University of KwaZulu-Natal (UKZN) and the Evangelical Seminary of Southern Africa (ESSA). The Cluster maximises the resources of the partner institutions and provides many opportunities for ecumenical exchange among students and staff.

Cluster Council

The Cluster Council, chaired by a head of one of the Cluster partners, plans and makes decisions for the Cluster. Each Cluster institution has two representatives on the Council.

Cluster Publications

Cluster Publications is a non-profit publishing enterprise of the Cluster. It produces a range of scholarly and popular books in theology which are contextual and directly related to the contextual realities of Africa, at affordable prices for South African scholars and students and their colleagues throughout Africa.