Prof R Simangaliso Kumalo
Prof R Simangaliso KumaloPresident PhD (UKZN)
Prof Kumalo joined SMMS from the School of Religion, Philsosophy and Classics, UKZN, where he served as the Acting Head, senior lecturer and researcher. He was the Director of the Ujamaa Centre for Community Development and Research. He has a PhD in Theology and Development with a specific focus on Education, Religion & Governance and Methodist Transformation. He is an internationally recognised scholar and author.

Management Committee

Rev Norman Raphahlela
Rev Norman RaphahlelaDean of the Chapel BTh (Hons)
Rev Raphahlela comes to SMMS from the Education for Ministry and Mission Unit where he served as Director for 7 years. He was a member of the International Conference of Police Chaplaincy and rose to Master Chaplain. He was Police Chaplain for 14 years, where he was appointed Chairperson for the Human Rights and Code of Conduct at SADC Level. Rev Raphahlela was General Secretary of the Africa Police Chaplain Association working closely with the Pan-African Christian Police Association.
Dr Rowanne Marie
Dr Rowanne MarieAcademic Dean PhD
Dr Marie was the first appointed staff member of the SMMS in 2008. Prior to this, Rowanne was the Head of the Church and Development Programme at the Evangelical Seminary of Southern Africa (ESSA), where she served for 8 years. Her experience in Higher Education has allowed her to successfully steer the Seminary through its accreditation and registration as a Private Higher Education Provider.
Rev Maurice Mpeta-Phiri
Rev Maurice Mpeta-PhiriDirector of Finance & Administration MA, BTh, Dip. in Business Studies
Rev Mpeta-Phiri joined SMMS in 2011 to serve in the Finance office as the Accountant for the Seminary before being promoted in 2013 to the position of Head of Finance and Administration. Maurice has been working as an accountant for over 25 years (7 years with KPMG Chartered Accountants and 18 years in industry). Maurice is an ordained minister and served as a full time minister for eight years. He is currently studying towards a PhD.
Ms Christel Robinson
Ms Christel RobinsonRegistrar BA, HED, BEd, Dip Bib. Studs.
Ms Robinson served for 12 years as national director of an international Christian media ministry, developing “Equipping to Share”, a discipleship programme. Her interests include Christian Counselling and prison ministry. She served as the undergraduate administrator at the former School of Religion and Theology, UKZN, before commencing her position as Administrator at SMMS in January 2011.

Heads of Units

Dr Eraste Nyirimana
Dr Eraste NyirimanaPhD (UKZN)
Head of Community Life
Rev Louis Williams
Rev Louis WilliamsMAppSc
Head of FEM
Dr Kennedy Owino
Dr Kennedy OwinoPhD (UKZN)
Head of Special Programmes Unit
Dr Ken Chisa
Dr Ken ChisaPhD (Unisa)
Head Librarian
Kudzai Taruona
Kudzai TaruonaMA (UZ)
Communications & Institutional Development Officer

Support Staff

Ms Sandra Knoop
Ms Sandra Knoop
P/A to the President and Receptionist
Ms Gladys Mpeta-Phiri
Ms Gladys Mpeta-PhiriMA, BTh, Certificate in Bussiness Computing
Coordinator of Special Programmes
Ms Gaynor Harvey
Ms Gaynor Harvey
Book Keeper
Ms Ntombifuthi Mthombeni
Ms Ntombifuthi MthombeniBSocSc, PG Dip Information Studies
Rev Joey Naika
Rev Joey NaikaMPhil
FEM Assistant
Mr. Emmanuel Dlomo
Mr. Emmanuel Dlomo
Library Assistant
Ms Nokuthula Mkhize
Ms Nokuthula Mkhize
General Admin staff
Ms Khethiwe Mncwabe
Ms Khethiwe Mncwabe
General Admin staff
Mr Clement Luthuli
Mr Clement Luthuli
General Admin staff
Mrs Nonhlanhla Mbanjwa
Mrs Nonhlanhla Mbanjwa

Adjunct Staff

Rev Delme Linscott
Rev Delme LinscottMTh
Ms Jenny Stanier
Ms Jenny StanierTeacher’s Senior Diploma
Rev Martin Mujinga
Rev Martin MujingaMA (UZ)